To make it worse, I'm once again stealing inspiration from Amanda C. I would have bored you all with something completely dull, but instead her post prodded another fading memory out of its dusty burrow and into the light. So, enjoy hearing about me repeatedly hurting myself. :]
When I was little, like 6 or so, I had a habit of running through the house. My mom would tell me to stop, and I would... for like 20 seconds. Then I'd start again. We had this short, solid table made out of heavy wood that our tiny black and white tv sat on. That table was the only thing my father ever gave us, I recall. I still have it. Not because of him, but because that table is fucking sturdy. And covered in my blood. lol. Anyways, it had a little rug right under/near it, and as expected, I ran past at one point and tripped on the rug, and cracked my head open on that solid little table.
I remember it hurting, but not so much as you'd expect; I didn't black out or anything. I don't know for sure how bad it injured me, it just seemed like a lot of blood at the time. I remember kinda thinking it was cool (all the blood). We were pretty poor, with no insurance, so my mom stitched my head up herself. I deduce from that that it's unlikely that I cracked my skull, just did decent scalp damage. But you never know. Last I asked my mom, it seemed she didn't really remember.
And then, after that, (either later that day or the next... possibly the one after that) I was at it again. Running through the house, I went to run by the table, and produced the same results. Trip, smash, blood on the table. I think this one dazed me quite a bit more. I remember my grandma being mad that I wasn't listening, but it's kinda fuzzy. :] I got stitched up again. I'm not sure how long it was after that that I didn't run in there again; I can't really believe that the incident dissuaded me forever. Maybe they just moved the damn rug instead. My mom pulled the homemade stitches out a week or two later. I remember it not really hurting much.
It would be years later before I damaged my skull that bad again. I was driving my first car, an awesome, solid, dependable Oldsmobile. The highway was oily from rain after a dry spell. I was driving only a little bit faster than was good for me; I was in a hurry to see some friends and possibly get to meet up with a crush of mine. As a stoplight turned red, an eighteen wheeler hydroplaned in front of me, its trailer, barren of cargo, fishtailing across the road before the driver regained control. I slammed on the breaks and hydroplaned too, despite my best efforts. My first wreck.
I slammed into the back of the trailer going about 55. It bounced me off of the windshield and steering wheel (I wore a seat belt, but it was useless in that car). I remember pretty clearly all of the moments up to it, time slowing as I did everything I could remember to regain control of a vehicle, and realizing I couldn't. Then being like, "Fuck. I'm gonna wreck. Oh well." and just waiting for it to happen. I don't remember being concerned; which is not unusual for me in an emergency (ty Fetch). I knew it was gonna hurt, gonna fuck up the car, but that it wasn't going to kill me or anything. There was a second or so after the impact where everything was an unfocused generalized blur and I was stunned. Then it passed, and I got out of the car.
The driver of the eighteen wheeler didn't even know someone had hit her. Damn big trucks. :] I know looking back I must have been dazed, because I asked if she was alright. Derp. It's an eighteen wheeler, dumbass. I dented the bar on the back that's specifically there to catch cars before they slide under the wheels, and that was it. The woman asked if she should call the police, or 911, and I told her I guessed so.
Police arrived soon after, and then the ambulance. By then I was thinking clear. The police asked me a bunch of questions, but I was mostly just concerned with my car and not being in trouble. I think the officer was a bit surprised. Then a second officer came and took over for her. He was mostly nice to me (unlike the first officer lady). Then the asshole paramedics came, did just about nothing, and told me that it was illegal (I was 17) for an underage person to refuse the ambulance ride in Alabama. That, by the way, was an absolute lie. They drove me about 400 feet (the wreck literally occurred right in front of the hospital) and charged me $475 for it. I was so pissed when I found out.
The emergency room was interesting. They rushed me in, not letting me walk around, and took me to a doctor. I had a broken hand, a cracked skull, a few other cracked bones and decent bruises, and blood loss. A lot of it. I remember being silently outraged, seeing the nurse walk by with a tray full of my sloshing blood, smiling and joking with the doctor, something to the effect of wondering how much was left. (I lost about a third of my blood by the way; thanks, asshats) My skull had already healed the crack up most of the way (!), so the doctor ofc decided to crack it back open to make sure it was alright and give me stitches. That hurt. I lost more blood, then they numbed my skull for the stitches. After he finished with that, they put a cast on my arm (on the wrong side, I found out later at a specialist), let me make a phone call, and shooed me off.
I forget who picked me up. I remember being upset about the car, the trouble I was going to be in at home, the cost of the ambulance and emergency room ($900+ for the er), and wishing I'd just walked home instead of going through all of this. I think it was Zach N. I remember getting lost in the hospital and not being able to find my way to the pick up zone, and not finding anyone to help, just other patients (I think one other guy was lost too, but he might have been drunk also). I remember climbing up something and over some bushes to get to the right area instead of navigating the damn hospital's innards again.
It all turned out all right. My injuries healed in a couple of weeks (!), though my skull has always had a thick spot where I'd cracked it these three times in the same place. I have bad dandruff there, and it's kind of numb. I bought a new car, ditched the cast early when it started to smell. I'll always hate paramedics though; not too fond of doctors, either. I'm glad I'm resilient, or those swindlers would have killed me and charged more to dispose of the body.
I get a cool story to rant about though, and at least I know I'm tough.
What does not kill you, makes you doughnuts, and all that.
:]
I found it hilarious when we met, and still find it kinda funny that you and I have a near-identical mirrored scar on the eyebrow.
ReplyDeleteYou got yours from banging your head on a table...
I got mine from being accidentally smacked in the head with a toy gun by my cousin.
We were young. I think I was 6 and he was 7 or 8. He had a toy shotgun or rifle. It had a bright red cap on the end of the barrel. He was swinging it around pretending to do as cops do in movies when they come around a corner and suddenly aim at the bad guy. I ran up behind him at the wrong moment and BAM, he hit me in the forehead. He dropped the gun and cried and apologized profusely. I didn't remember until right now how upset he was, tho I know I've told you this story before. He ran off to get help after swearing to me he was sorry and promising he'd help. He came back with Paw in tow and was still crying, so upset he'd hurt me. I don't think he was just upset he'd be in trouble either. He was sorry. He begged me to forgive him as they loaded me into the van to take me to the hospital. I told him I loved him and it was okay. He yelled something as the van door slid shut. I think it was "I love you too".
We had issues when we got older... but he was really like a brother to me when we were young. I tend to forget that because of all the sadness and anger that wrote it out when we grew up.
But that's what it really was.
4 stitches. In the eyebrow. I remember it tickling when they took them out. I hated the feeling. The thread pulling through my healed skin. It tickled SO badly. I was in a room with brown wood-paneled walls. I remember vaguely what it smelled like in there. The doctor was male. I don't remember his name tho.
I am glad to have inspired you.
ReplyDeleteHead injuries are never fun, but at least you didn't suffer too much damage from them so that is good.
Home stitches sound painful, but you don't remember any pain, so that is good. Maybe they did move the rug so you wouldn't do it again after you tripped in the exact same spot the second time.
riveting memories. the accident seems so scary and i'm glad it turned out okay. that's crazy that the hospital put the cast on the wrong arm.
ReplyDeleteIt's sad, my first thought is:
ReplyDeleteBwhahahahahahahahahaha, how hard-headed... and I guess they decided to keep you for more earthly torture... but joking cynical side apart, what lovely (and frightening) memories to share today!
Though WOW on the incompetence of the ER people....
And really, convincing you to be driven where you might have been able to walk (or just freaking wheel you over there)... The balls they had!
The doctors in this state, with a few exceptions, are incredibad. Arsh has way worse stories (almost been killed twice).
ReplyDeleteThen again, I could have brain damage. I wouldn't know. lol.
9/10 of the people we've ever seen don't even know how to take blood. I used to know cpr and how to take blood, for fucksake. lol. And these people make my yearly salary in a month.
I wish they'd get eaten by moths. Large ones. :]
You guys have no idea how bad the medical offerings in Walker County, Alabama are.
ReplyDeleteI could tell you a huge list of horror stories about the doctors in this area.
My gall-bladder failure and accute pancreatitis was "heart burn, take the diagnosis or leave it".
My asthma attack that nearly killed me was "you're overweight" ME:"But I've been overweight for years... this is kinda a hugely new problem." Doc: "Hmm. Try losing weight."
Same hospital that put Anna's cast on the wrong side of her arm...
Also treated her grandpa for cancer. They treated him for the wrong kind of cancer in the wrong organ for the full length of time ... then by the time they realized their mistake, he died of cancer in the organ they'd not treated.
My dad went there once with a heart attack. They said it was a virus and sent him home.
My mom went there with cancer and they let her "emergency buzzer" go off for over half an hour because all the nurses were missing from the station... she almost died there due to not being able to breathe (her oxygen tank had malfunctioned).
A friend's ex-wife was in with lupus and nearly died because they let her IV run dry twice. Getting a nurse to her room to fix it was crazy.
I could keep going but I don't care too.
This county SUCKS for medical care.
i am sorry to hear about the medical there. that sounds horrible. i got sick once really bad...it's when i went into that coma and it was because i breathed in a spore. the spore grew into disseminated valley fever. the reason i got so sick is because the doctor kept telling me i had indigestion. i had a fever of 104 for 3 weeks and i gained 40 lbs in that time..that doesn't sound like indigestion to me. they finally got me a good doctor while i was comatose and i'm glad for it. i hate going to the doctors...i always tell them i don't want to be anyone's patient and it turns them off because they know i'm not going to go for random testing. i have good insurance but each test is still $70-$600 and they can order a lot of them so i avoid it. my dad just moved to huntsville and i am a little concerned because it seems like all the new docs are treating him like a guinea pig and ordering up all these new tests. today is his birthday and i got him 2 sessions of acupunture. i just want him to try some eastern medicine and try to get off all the drugs. the drugs aren't helping him much and the hospitals and doctors are making him miserable. hopefully the acupuncture will be magical for him and he will find relief.
ReplyDelete