9.02.2011

Day 2: Decreased vision

I have to work later today, and I am not sure when I will have time to do this today so I figured I would post it before I go to sleep (I generally sleep when the sun is out)

When I was in 4th grade, i sat in the back of the class room in most of the classrooms. (We had about 4 teachers, and we have several hours of several subjects, than would move to another room for a different subject.) All the classes rooms were close together except P.E and Music.

Maybe one of the classrooms I sat up front I don't remember, exactly. I do remember we most of our assignments put up on these horrid projectors (Speaking of what is up with those... it honestly would have been easier to see through sand. I have noticed other classes using them, and even if it is a brand new projector they also seem hazy as hell.)

Anyway, projectors aside, this is not about the projectors. My english teacher, whom I think was Mrs. Miller,[ though I don't remember exactly anymore, though I used to know all the teachers I ever had names, it started getting cloudy in college. By that time though it is to be expected since starting sometime in elementary school before going to junior high or middle school depending on what they call it, you start seeing about more and more teachers a day, and you don't just have one teacher to remember. You remember their names the semester or so you have them and move on.] Sorry, I get distracted easily... my english teacher who will just call Mrs. Miller realized I was squinting to see the board. My science teacher also made comments to at some point during the year.

It was decided I probably needed glasses. I was taking to an eye doctor. I honestly am not sure how we paid for my first set of glasses. They were hideous and bifocals at that too. (The first and only pair of bifocals I have ever had) I can read up close fine, so I am not sure why I needed bifocals. They were very thick too.

Even after I got the eye glasses I remember once or twice a week having to go back to the eye doctor to take these stupid tests that were supposed to improve my eyesight. I am not even sure why they were really, really stupid to me.

I know the first part involved two lights. I had to start at one color for 10 minutes, and then it was switched for color 10 mins. Or it may have been 30 now that I think about it. I have never been good at telling time internally. Either way it was bloody annoying. I had to take my glasses off, and just stare at this stupid light, sometimes blue, sometimes purple, I remember green.
I think they were also monitoring my eyes with the machine as well. You would hope so anyway

The second part involved staring at this chart with people on it. They were traced in green and then in red. So, like 3-d except I didn't get to wear the cool glasses. I was supposed to cross my eyes, and get the two pictures to become one. I don't ever remember mastering that particular skill during the test, I do remember making up random stories in my head about the people in the pictures.

I just remember always dreading going to the eye doctor, since I hated staring at those pictures and the lights. And ever so often they would make me redo the eye tests, you know the one where they blow air in your eye, and read the chart.

I still have glasses now, probably will for a long time. though it has been about two years since I have updated my glasses, I may need to soon, but I have to have money.


2 comments:

  1. I remember the waiting room, the feel, and I remember the store was right around the block (though at the moment I don't remember the name of the place). It was Arcadia, right, downtownish area...
    He wanted me to do those damn test as well, said I had a lazy eye... Weirdo.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yes, it was downtown. I am sure some store was down near it. I remember occasionally dad would take us to get ice cream down near the eye doctor, or to watch the parades. (the horror of arcadia)
    Well, I am glad you didn't have to take them. they sucked

    ReplyDelete