Remember Yourself
September 2011 You are Challenged to Remember Yourself. Every single day, write about a memory that you have not brought up in a while and write as much as you can remember. Dig deep. Find yourself. Recover what you have lost.
9.30.2011
Day 30: I am a rambling mess
I have always been a little on my own. The last ten or so years I have been following my own path a little. I didn't go straight into college, where I did parttime the first semester, but even then when I got to college I did summer classes, so finished in about three years instead of the normal four. (Actually now I think it is close to five for a normal bachelor, if you don't take summer classes)
Instead going straight into grad school, I moved back home for a bit, for what I thought was going to be a semester or two, but it has turned into almost six years.
I don't work a normal job, but I guess there are a lot more people with customer service job than need be.
I remember two years ago dreaming for a cubicle job. I honestly was thinking more like office space, and less where I would actually have to deal with people. i would still kill for a cubicle job where I can stay in my cubicle all day and not deal with other people.
I am both a people's person and a loner. I think I am sort of schizo. Random is my favorite thing.
Speaking of, I did have a point here... I am not sure what it was going to be. I wanted to have a very meaningful post for the last day. My brain isn't working in meaningful ways.
So, I guess I will end the month by saying, I remember always wanting to be somewhere else. I remember a whole list of jobs I wish I had. Right now, I dream of building ray guns and opening a book/music/ray gun shop. I am not sure if I will or not.
I need to remember once I start something to actually finish it. Maybe I will start something and finish it like planned and not get sidetracked...even during this month when I was remembering various things, I didn't finish all the memories I intended to write out. Maybe I will at some other time. I am just not going to worry about every day writing a memory, but maybe I should try to write something every day.
Anyway, thanks for reading my rambles this month.
Abi: Change. [30/30]
There are so many people and events worth remembering in my life that I would love to post about. Everyone I met had reason to me, and inspired me in one way or another… but today, to end this challenge (well, to end it in the terms of this, but never in the reality of remembering myself) I thought I would focus a little on the core of the change into my adult life: John.
The day I met him was the day my life started to move in an entirely new direction, one I never had foreseen.
The day I first met him was in my apartment. My current boyfriend, Paul, was over at the time. Paul and I were okay, but the relationship wasn’t quite right… we were okay when we were alone, but when there were other people I was forgot. I know I am usually timid, and I tend to be very soft spoken in groups, but it’s like he literally forgot I existed… so things were already shredding on that line, though it wasn’t until I met John that it was clear I couldn’t love Paul…
Amariah had brought John over. He was a co-worker, and they had become fast friends (with John, that’s easy, he’s an outgoing person who will talk to anyone). Paul, of course, was completely engaged with talking to everyone but me, so I remember sitting in the area between my desk and book shelf and chewing on the antenna of Invader Zim plushie and pretty much just listening to the conversations. I think Paul was playing something on my Playstation, I believe it was Castlevania. He was showing it off to John… Amariah I think had seen it before, and maybe even played it before.
I remember John had longer hair, reminding me of someone from an 80’s band like Foreigner or something… He had a very familiar face, as well… and an air of confidence.
I know that in the course of the night he tried to tell me I should never go to Ireland, because of my accent… It never made much sense to me why he said it, still doesn’t. I know I had an accent that people asked about, something slightly British I guess…
I recall after John and Amariah left, Paul and I were taking a walk around the apartment complex in the dark, which was a very common event for us. I asked Paul if he thought John hated me, because his comment made me very hurt for whatever reason… okay, the real reason was I wanted ever so much to be liked my John. I honestly, truly, wanted him in my life… It was, I think, love at first sight…
That night the seeds of change were planted.
Congratulations friends!
Remembering yourself is a grand pursuit. Continuing this challenge with yourself is simple. Whenever you remember something of yourself, record it. Write it into a blog. Make a note to yourself on your computer. Anything. Just don't forget who you are and who you have been.
I welcome anyone to continue writing here if they desire. I'm honored that you've all taken part in this challenge, even tho I had to give it up due to my shoulder injury.
Today, I'm remembering being a child... playing with the little kitchen set with the plastic foods. I'm remembering this because my daughter has a kitchen set with plastic foods we just moved into her room from her grandmother's house today. And I see the little things she brings me to "eat" and I remember the ones I took to my grandpa when I was little. We had a Pizza Hut playset that had a pizza with a pan and a pizza cutter. I wish I had that still to give to her. It's the one thing that stands out in memory in the mess of dishes and foods we had...
The kitchen set I had then had a little tank you could put in the back and then you could use the water dispenser on the front of the fridge door to actually get a cup of water. Why don't the modern equivalents have something so simple but neat to a kid? I remember wanting to put kool-aid in it but not being allowed because it'd be "a mess". Man, if my kid's kitchen set did that... I'd let her put Kool-aid in it and we'd just run the tank through the wash afterwards. Heh.
Anyway... I'm still remembering. Always will be.
Congratulations for joining me, and out-doing me for a month! :)
Forever, your Self is all you have. Don't forget it.
9.29.2011
Abi: I don’t have to be myself! [29/30]
I wasn’t sure if I’d talk about roleplay, but I think it was a big part of my life when I was younger… and were it I lived nearer to friends I’d still be playing. (Excuse the weirdness of this post…)
I’d done several types of roleplay when I was a teen. I think my first attempts for online. I played with my friend Leslie, a Star Trek one, with my characters Avalonna Archer and another, whose name suddenly alludes me though I remember his persona so well.
I remember it was a frustrating thing, through a Yahoo! group emailing thing or something, I don’t remember too well the system... I can’t remember if I agreed she was going to be a child of a one of the Q and a part of a story line, of if she was half betazoid (spelling). Whatever she was, she acted very much like a Vulcan, nearly emotionless… she did have a singer’s background, but she lacked passion, it was all about the science.
Well, I remember someone had been moving forward a scene and had my character smile and nod that them. I was so livid. Why would my character do this, even such a simple thing, WHY would you touch my character to begin with?! I know it seems so petty… but to me it was serious.
It made me HATE that form of roleplaying…
Another one I am sort of ashamed to admit I was a part of was an Invisible Man roleplay. I was playing Bobby Hobbes in two different ones I believe, and end up having to take a hiatus, so someone took over my character. Well, suddenly he became suicidal and in love with someone… which struck me as very bizarre… so now I totally hated roleplaying online.
I think, briefly, I played in a Jekyll & Hyde online game… but it never went anywhere, for my character.
Then Dana had talked to me about playing Vampire with her, Joe, Nora, and there was someone else who played like two or so games… We were playing Sabbath, and I still remember my first character very well (he never leaves me alone, really) . His name was Jajarick, though I ended up playing his other personality, Lancer, far more often. Jajarick was a Pander (meaning without a clan), but Lancer was a Malkie… it’s hard to explain, but basically, his sire had used Dementation on him and he’d gone insane for awhile (like a year, I think that was the results of the roll), which caused him quite a few personality disorders… and Lancer, this new spilt, from his new issue, had been the one brought across as a vampire… Later on, when the Dementation wore off, Jajarick became ‘aware’ again, properly, and found himself to be, what he had feared in the little spaces between, a vampire. He knew nothing about this thing that had happened to him, it was some strange curse, that seemed to happen shortly after the black outs (Lancer coming about)… But, I’ll not write his whole story out here, this wasn’t where I was going with this…
This game, while I was entirely nervous to start with, turned into one of my favourite memories from that time of my life. I remember I started to model Jajarick’s personality off of Vampire Hunter D, and his appearance a little the same, but also this awesome image of Erik (Magneto) from a 1996 X-Men comic… long silver coloured hair. Then I took him into life, and well, tormented him… but not before drawing out a very in-depth timeline of his life prior to the game… it was fun… it was weird… I think I still have some of the roleplay info and images I collected (most from anime’s) that I used for my character creation… I might have to look later, just to be amused.
Then I moved on a little, I ended up storytelling a bit, and fell in love… I loved having others send my characters into unknown things, but I also loved populating a whole city and curving a story around other people’s characters. I love character creation. I love building people into life, giving them flaws and making them seem real… I have this incredible dislike of those characters that are so unique and rare, that have no real flaws, and seem to know more than they should… I really get irked by how some people play. I think I approach it all differently. I was about the psychological game, not the battling and levelling my characters up…
I remember my main character for my Huntington campaign was Julianno, another Malkie (but in a different direction)… I remember he had a whole back story as well. He ended up being married into the mob, and subsequently killed off in it as well. I don’t remember if he was sired by them, or by someone who witnessed the event. I want to say it was his new brother-in-law who spared him, but I’m thinking it HAD to be a female because of later issues he developed (damn Malkies)… only problem was he had to leave behind his wife and unborn child, or else the his new father-in-law might hear about him and that he wasn’t as dead as he ought to be. He was an interesting character. I know he didn’t want to be made a vampire, and he developed some serious (SERIOUS) issues with this that turned outward in how he’d treat his victims because of how he felt violated to be living that life (not G-rated, not even R-rated, so I will not write about it here… I never really got into that completely, sadly, with anyone, because people just DON’T want to know what Julianno had the urges to do to calm himself)…. I think he also had a issue with blood, I think it had to be a certain temperature to carry nutrients to him. Oh my GAWD, I need to find his character sheet (which I think was lost in the apartment in Florida, damnit, but maybe just maybe I have a digital version somewhere), I’m forgetting about his details! I remember his personality, these things I never forget… but those little things, the dots on the sheets, those flaws and merits, his ability levels: they’re drifting from my thoughts.
I do remember that he made his grandson into a Ghoul…
Any ways… enough of my silly characters…
I ended up becoming addicted to a game with Dana over the phone. It started off innocently, and then… it became something very obsessive. It was what I lived for, we’d start talking at night and come sunrise we’d still be talking… The phone bill at one point was some $600 or more, I think… it was INSANE… Seriously, it was an addiction, it effected my life in a BIG way. Nothing else mattered for awhile, just this epic story we were telling together…
After that it died. I tried a few online things from time to time, and I think I started a Wraith game with Amariah that didn’t go very far… (Gideon was his name… I have FAR too many male characters… actually, I think all player characters were male. o.O)
I think I ought to give it another shot sometime.
Day 29: Book fairs
9.28.2011
day 28: The races
It was called Hoosier park.
I was a lovely place. I remember pulling up to the parking lot, and being in awe of the lovely building. I never got to see the Horses run live there, but maybe someday at some park i will.
The first time I went I didn't know anything about Gambling. Frank, my friend, always carried a small notebook with him. One of the small spiral ones. Or at least he made sure to always had one when we went to the track.
I remember the first time we went, we sat in the one of the little booths with a tv. He made me a little diagram of what each bet meant. He started with the win bet.
That is one of the easiest bets, and is actually just like it sounds. You are betting who will win.
I also got confused with the show and place for a while. But eventually I picked it up. Place is for second, so if the horse comes in first you also win, but the percentage is smaller. If it comes in third you lose, or after obviously. Show is for third, so if the horse comes in first or second you also win.
There are other bet trifecta (picking the first three) and exacta (picking the first two) and Superfecta (picking the first four) You can do these straight, so an exacta straight 1-2, has to come 1 first, and 2 second or you can box them, which means either way as long as they come in first or second. There are some other bets, but we didn't go over them, and they really aren't important at the moment. (I think I learned later what a Quinella is when I worked the dog track, since most horse tracks don't use that. It is basically it is an exacta box bet with a different name.)
I am not sure if we bet on the first race. I think we spent a few minutes flipping back in forth between the channels. I know the first few bets I made, i wasn't really betting on the odds.
I can still only slightly read the odds of the horses/dogs. I bet on names.
I remember one of the largest bets I made was for one called Chubby Bunny, which I bet 5 across the board for the race. (Across the board is essentially A win bet, a place bet, and a show bet on the same ticket)
He didn't win, he came in fourth. I think I went to the teller for that one.
One most of the bets we were making, we were using the self service machines. When I wasn't betting, I went up with him and he exsplained to me what he was doing when he was placing his bets.
I don't think the first time Frank bought a book. I think we found one for one of the tracks. So, for a while we were connectrating a lot of the bets on that track. Most horse tracks have 30 minutes between each race, so though we may have been betting exclusively on one track, we were always watching some of the other races going off.
I don't remember actually seeing live racing till later. It wasn't actually horses. it was actually the dogs when I worked the track. I think I was hired right as the season was going off, before they changed the season. I may be wrong though.
I always liked working the twilight races down by the track. It is called the glass, since it is basically against the glass covering the grand stands. The twilight races were always a bit slower so I didn't have to worry about people bothering me.
It is fun to watch the dogs run. luckilY i don't remember sitting down there where any of the dogs got seriously hurt, A couple times the dogs hit the wall, but like i said no major injuries. I think once one of the doggies hurt his leg, but he was about to be done racing, and actually got adopted out shortly after that.
I do remember more than one race where a random dog would get distracted. I know one this dog saw a butterfly and started chasing after it. I think all the dogs that race at the dog track are just out of puppyhood or still puppies, so they can easily get distracted.
Not every race but occasional times, they would walk through the dogs that were up for adoption. A couple times on they dressed the dogs up. I think one Kentucky Derby they had fancy hats when they walked through.
I never worked with the dogs just took the bets, but they were always cute, and it was nice when I would get to pet one. I would probably get a greyhound but I definitely don't have enough space for one.
I haven't been back to the dog track since I quit. But I might go to a horse track or a dog track if anyone invited me, just not the one I used to work, a nicer one.
Abi: Can’t stop the hand. [28/30]
Drawing and I have a love/hate relationship. I remember when it came to school, I always received praise and awards for my drawings. I was always in the top of the class for artistic thing, up until High School when different art classes were more accessible and my inspiration became diminished.
I kind of grew into the artist thing, when I was younger. It was, and still is, said to be one of my strong suits… though I might have agreed when I was younger, I don’t feel the same when I can look at all the amazing things other people have done. My art always seems to pale in comparison.
I remember Science class was always my favourite for drawing in. I want to say it was 6th grade where I always had my picture posted for all to see in the hallways. I took pride in it, even though I never felt it was as special made it out to be. I liked to draw then, it was my main emotional outlet until I became a teen and got into poetry and writing (when then stole the passion, I think).
I do remember in one of my History classes we were to draw and colour with crayon a picture, and I worked hard on my picture after school, as well as in class, until I had a lovely image in bold colours. I want to say it was an image of a Bayou, or it was a weeping willow over a lake of some sort. It was solid crayon, though, from top to bottom, but so beautiful. My teacher loved it greatly, and took it, with her favourites for display, to be laminated. I remember my horror to see the heat had melted the colours into each other! I also remember the mockery from the cruel whispering students, talking about how cheap my crayons must have been.
Sudden my beautiful art was a monster and was mocked, and I never forgot that… It hurt. I was little, and my art was all I felt I had to offer, and here it was being destroyed and then, on top of that, ridiculed. I had met critics, and it would never be the same.
I took a pseudo-graphics design class in High School. I remember the teacher wasn’t very knowledgeable, especially on computers, and was learning with us. It was a sad excuse of a class, we were taught nothing and just told to make things, like leaflets and pamphlets with the programs on the computer.
One of the assignments we were making a poster, or something like that, using preset shapes and designs (basically webding and wingding font)… I made this little temple with Zodiac signs on it, and I remember that my teacher sat down next to me and talked real hushed. She thought it was best that I remove the ‘Satanic’ symbols from the work. I explained to her what they were and they were not Satanic, and that if someone has the right to use a cross in their imagery, then I should be allow to use what I’d wish. She tried to refute that others will assume it was Satanic, so I best take it off. I refused. I received an F.
It was a waste of a semester.
I’m still drawing, just nothing serious. I rarely have the patience or the passion. My weapon is words, and I find it does more for my soul to write than to draw… Besides, I think I still hinge on negative thoughts towards my work, so much so that I lost the thrill and pleasure of drawing. This is a shame… I used to be good, even if I thought it was bad compared to others… it was still good.
9.27.2011
Day 27: My grandfather
I remember going down to my grandfather's garage when they lived at their old house.
He had a trainset there. I rememeber for awhile he had it set up, and we were allowed to watch it go around the track. I think everything on the set was decorated for Christmas because I remember fake snow among the tiny trees.
I also remember he used to collect National Geographics, and he had stacks and stacks of them lined up. I think sometimes i would pick up and issue, and scan through it. But mostly I just remember the yellow spines lined on top of each other.
I know after they moved we inheirted some. I think Nana said it was the whole collection, but it seemed when I was little there were so many more of them.
I can picture them stacked to the ceiling but I doubt that is where they were stacked too. I am not sure if we still have them. i know I still have at least one of the maps, it is pinned on my wall.
I remember there were a lot of things stored in the garage. I remember things stored even in the ceiling rafters. I want to say I think there was a canoe and paddles up there as long with some other things.
I remember he used to have these lance cracker jars. It seemed when we were little they were always filled, and we were allowed to take crackers when we came to visit. I think he also had a cooler where he would keep sodas, and that sometimes we were allowed sodas.
I remember going to visit my grandfather. I don't remember talking much to him, even later in life I wasn't sure what to say to him. i always felt a sort of awe for him, and wasn't sure what to talk to him about. I think I missed a lot by not talking to him as much as I could.
My grandfather was very smart, and knew a lot of things.
I remember sitting in one of the chairs next to the stack of National Geographics, and my dad would talk to my grandfather. I couldn't sit still in the chair, and was told to stop rocking. it wasn't a rocking chair, I was sitting up in the chair rocking slightly. I don't think I ever really learned to sit perfectly still, but for the most part it isn't as noticable as it used to be.
I am sure there is more to write, but I have to go back to work
Abi:Feeling kind of funny… feeling kind of sad.[27/30]
I’m unmotivated and kind of (due to selfish issues) rushed today, so I figured that I would just do the obvious topic today of: birthdays.
I really I think I missed out on the whole hoopla (yes, I used that word) of birthdays. When my first daughter was on the verge of turning one I got a shocked treatment from my future mum-in-law because I hadn’t planned on throwing her a party. Apparently I am robbing the one-year old of some amazing thing that no child should be without (oh, really? I’ll get to that in a moment).
So my mum-in-law insisted we come down, and do a little party at her house. It’s not like there is a whole load of people to invite, and I didn’t know but one other mum, and she didn’t even have custody of her children at the time… so who would I invite? It would just be family.. but for a one year old’s party? Who will not remember a damned thing about it… and who will only be interested in the cake, balloons, and wrapping paper and care less about anything else…
I guess the idea is completely lost on me…
Mind you now that my oldest is getting, well, older, I am very interested in making her birthday special, but parties are still a little weird for me.
I only ever remember having one birthday party, and it was when we lived in Satellite Beach (or I think it was there)… I want to say it was my 2nd birthday, but it’s hard to think I can recall something that old, so I will not say for sure… and as far as I know it might not have been MY birthday party… this is, however, the only thing I can recall for this topic. I have this insistence urge to say my Uncle Scott gave us tickets to the circus for my birthday, but I really don’t know for sure.
Chances are I could have had a party at some point… I think I ended up at Disney for my birthday once, and had breakfast with Snow White, the others, and maybe Mickey was there (who I think I disliked greatly), but I only recall this as being retold to me and cannot remember actually being there. (I think Amanda mentioned a picture of this day in an earlier post, actually).
The thing in our house was when your birthday came around, you picked the dinner… though that didn’t always mean you’d get it. That’s what I remember for a birthday tradition.
I remember once that my sister, I think for her 16th birthday, ended up having a party in the local park (to which I was NOT invited to, as crushed as I was). I remember she came home with a load of gifts and had enjoyed herself…
I remember being SO incredibly jealous, because I didn’t get a birthday party or loads of gifts that year, or the year before, or the year before that (and so forth). I think she’d planned it, and convinced mum (and maybe dad, I can’t recall if this was before or after he passed) to go along with it… but I still felt cheated… Mostly because I always felt that if I tried to initiate something that I would get shot down, and I just gave up trying to force people into doing things I wanted… because if they didn’t want to do something for me I didn’t want to demand it of them.
It was just one more thing to add to the ever growing list of why I always felt my sister was the favourited of us.
This year I erased my birthday from Facebook, and hid it on Livejournal, because I’m sick of it all. I see all these people having parties (and baby showers, that’s a sore spot, too), and I’ve not gotten to truly experience these things before.
This day is usually a bitter day… I end up at home ALONE (John’s working, again, I think this is the 4th year in a row… or more), no social interactions, usually cleaning (well, I clean daily, so that’s not a valid thing to point out)… I don’t even get cake (even when I insist I should, but it just never works out in my regard, last two year it was budget issues). I rarely get presents, maybe one a year (this year it was Arsh, with an EPIC pony she drew of me with the cutest little cutie mark ever!)… and I get cards only from my mum and sister, and my Nana…
I’m always left wondering, what’s so damned special about today? I’m just getting older… and not many people seem interested in anything more than saying Happy Birthday to me on some piffling social network, which seems more out of tradition than heart-felt by some of these people (which I could be wrong, but if you only speak to me a few times a year, and one of those is to say Happy Birthday, then you’ve not convinced me otherwise yet).
Why should I even recognise this day as anything other than another day, let alone insist other people recognise it by showering me with blessings, love, gifts or whatever (that they would be unwilling to do any other time of the year, save for maybe Christmastime)?
Really? What is the point of even using this day for anything more than legal mumbo-jumbo?
On a better, more positive note: A HUGE thank you to Arsh and the super lovely pony art! How tempted I am to have that cutie mark tattooed on me! It’s just so fantabulous! Thank you.
9.26.2011
Day 26
The fall air always reminds me of walking downtown muncie. It was always a wonderful place to spend walking on my lunch break at the internship.
My favorite place to go for Fall was Concannon's bakery. They made pumpkin bread. I don't remember ever eating pumpkin bread until I went there. Or maybe someone had given me a slice and I decided to try it.
It was delicious. I remember buying one of the small loafs, and almost eating it all the day when I get home.
The bakery was a wonderful place. It wasn't that far from the government building, and it was such a wonderful place to get in.
It seemed you could smell the bakery as you started walking down the street. They made all kinds of interesting things there. I know i bought frozen cheesecake there once, and they dipped pretzels in chocolate. I also think they made candy at the store. it was a lot bigger than you may think.
I think it is actually about the size of my living room. There was a candy counter, and a baked good counter. Most of the store was covered with interesting things to look at. The displays were always so nice and organized, and they always had delightful window displays... maybe nothing as impressive as Macy's or a bigger store, but something that looked like a display, and also lovingly inviting.
Anyway, I have to go back to work, and I am hungry again. I think I am going to try to find a recipe and make my own pumpkin bread.
Abi: Soft Grass [26/30]
One of the strangest fieldtrips I ever had while there was to the water treatment plant that sat behind the health department. It was…
Not something I would want to do again unless I will be pocketing a large sum of money at the end of it all.
Another field trip we had in Arcadia we ended up at a graveyard (in what I remember to be the middle of nowhere). This was the first time I ever remember the idea of walking around and in between the graves was expressed to be acceptable way to walk in a graveyard. They told us we needed to respect these people here, and not to walk, or play about, on their graves. I remember that kind of stuck with me.
I remember loving the trip out there. I know we stopped at a large above ground tomb and they told us some folklore about the person buried there.
On the same trip, while in the bus, I remember we had driven by a really old two story building and that we were being told about it, and something about soap made from human fat.
A very interesting trip indeed…
Another fieldtrip we took in Arcadia, was to the Outdoor Classroom, which I recall going to a few times.
I still remember decently in my head the picnic area, the trailer where we had a sit down class, and then the area with the cougars and the foxes.
It was a pretty damn awesome place, like a mini-zoo/state park area where we’d go through and hear about all the animals there and be among nature… I liked everything about it save for the sunlight part.
I remember in Elementary, 5th grade Mr. Phillip’s class, we had a fieldtrip downtown to watch the parade (for Veteran's Day, I think) and we had to actually walk there… which apparently we were not the only class doing so. It was a very tedious and boring trip.
I need a fieldtrip.
Day 25: vacation
I don't remember much else about Raleigh, I think there was another museum me and my dad were going to go to but it was closed down. My mum and my sister had gone to see a movie or go shopping or something, since they didn't want to go to the movie.
9.25.2011
Abi: School Lunches[25/30]
I’ve been enjoying a three day weekend with John, so today’s topic is going to be something not too time invoking or serious.
I remember when I was in elementary school the lunches they had were pretty damn awesome. There was a salad bar and a hot food lane, and on Fridays there was pizza or tacos to choice from.
I remember my all-time favourite thing was the rolls. I love those damn things! I still do, and I have tried so hard to find rolls similar to them for purchase, because… well, I droll just thinking of that buttery doughy goodness.
Ah, now I’m hungry for one!
(I also remember that lunch room was where we put on school plays on the little stage there, and where the PTA meetings were held… It was Memorial Elementary… I’m trying to remember Eastside, but I can’t right now.)
I remember in Junior High that I didn’t eat from the cafeteria even once. I honestly think, in retrospect, it was because of my anxiety of such things. I can’t explain it really, I just felt extremely uncomfortable to have to walk up there and navigate some unknown rules of how the lunch line worked… I had issues.
Same ended up happening in High School. I’d sit in the lunchroom, and sometimes I’d bring something, but I would never go through the lunch line… even for those yummy rolls.
I missed out on a lot in those years from my serious anxiety issues.
I’m remembering now the group I sat with in High School, with Dana, the Brians, and Joe (sometimes)… I think there were others, but I honestly can remember right now. Strange… For sometime, while Dana was dating Dan (I remember him and his ENDLESS old school Doctor Who (well, that was the only Doctor Who then) quoting… and that he was my 6th grade biology’s teacher’s son), he’d sit with us. I remember them holding hands sometimes and how very bothered I was, but still on the edge of giggling as well… Like I mentioned before, I was a late bloomer… Oh, shit, I never got over some of that, no lie: Lovey-dovey scenes still kind of make me uncomfortable! I’m not a fan of public displays of affection, never have been… I think it’s obvious that I’m no romantic type.
At some point, I think when the two of my friends were graduated the year before (Amariah and Donna) and my other friends had a different lunch period, I ended up sitting with my sister and her group of friends outside. It was an odd time, and none of them were truly my friends, not even my sister at the time. I was going through some rough things at the time, any ways, and so it all made for some bad experience that year… Well, I had just lost my dad, was having severe panic attacks, and was out of school more than in… I have no good memories from that time, really.
You know, I think tomorrow I might talk about some of the varied and interesting field trips I had back in school.
9.24.2011
Abi: The Preacher. [24/30]
One of the nicest people I ever knew was my Papa. He was a preacher for a Baptist church, and even though I protested his religion he never spoke ill of me of forced anything on me. I know he’d would mention I should attend church more, but it was more like: “we miss you there.” Nana would be the once to kind of be insistent on the topic and using the idea of God wanting me there.
Or at least this is how I recall it.
My Papa was a soft spoken man, which is amusing given that Nana was the polar opposite and seemed to run the working of the family (well, from my view it seemed so).
What I always respected about him was he never seemed to dwell on the idea of damnation as much as he would dwell on the idea of salvation. It was not preaching of fire of brimstone, it was always the lessons available through the Bible (or the Word Of God).
I never heard my Papa yell. I never heard him angry. I think Nana did enough of that for them both.
Right after my first daughter was born I remember staying at their house for a few days with Zozo. One day, while the little one was napping, he was discussing how the reality of the End of Days that wasn’t seen when he was younger… I remember very little of it, honestly, because I’ve never invested so much in that religion, but I remember he pointed out some very interesting things that made the Bible painted future seem very plausible with our current times and technology. (I’m sure if I took the time to look into it I’d remember it more.)
What I cherished about growing up was Christmas at Nana and Papa’s. He used to read ‘Twas The Night Before Christmas for years on end, before any gifts were passed out. I remember that if someone made a noise, he’d start again at the beginning… which meant insanity among my uncles. My uncles by themselves are pains, but get them all in one room: be scared.
I think, in retrospect, of all the supposed Christians I have know, my Papa was the one who truly seemed touch by his God. I seriously never recall too much of a negative outlook. I know he had aged, near the end, and his body was nothing like it used to be, but he didn’t seem to complain much… actually I don’t ever recall him complaining at all.
I remember how he’d speak to John, how he was so friendly with him, and how John always loved to talk to him. They would talk about cars, or John would talk about work… It was nice that John had someone within the family to talk to, like they did.
My Papa used to me a car mechanic, and he owned his own little shop down the hill from their house in Rockledge before they moved (where they had lived, I think they had said, some 42 years or something). I want to say the shop had originally been his dad’s, but I don’t recall anymore.
I remember the garage. It had a very distinct smell to it. I remember back in the day, when the garage was opened, that he’d be sitting at his desk most of the day.
Someday I wished I got more time to talk to him, because I know so little about him, and what little I do are things I didn’t learn from him but from my mum or Nana.
Day 23 and 24 : Disney world
I am sitting in a hospital room waiting for my nana to go into surgery. It is very quiet in here. My nana is sleeping, and my mum is doing crossword puzzles.
Not sure why i am writing that as it has nothing to do with today's memory since i wanted to try to keep things light. So my memory today is actually about disney world.
My dad used to work thete when we were children. He helped with construction on some of the hotels and then he worked as a dishwasher at one of the restaurants on pleasure island. ( which i think is now called downtown disney but i could be wrong)
The place he worked was called the buena vista yacht club. We would go in with him sometimes to get his paycheck. The bartender would make us cokes and put cherries in them to make cherry cokes. I remember watching them fizzle down to the bottom.
The interior seemed bright and sunny. The floor was a light wood color that always seemed freshly polished. Almost like the boat of a deck. The bar was a touch lighter all made of wood as well. I think the bar stools were leather i think. But most bar stools look similiar. I remember the logo had a life saver and rope incorporated into it somehow.
Sometimes after he got his paycheck he'd take us to a restaurant nearby called fireworks. It had two levels. I always liked when we were get seated on the second floor. The waitress would sit us at a table, and we would get to eat from the kiddie menu, which then seemed like a large meal. I know they served things like hotdogs, and hamburgers.
Every christmas he worked we got to go to the christmas cast party. I think they did more than one each year so everyone could get a chance to bring their families. We would ride many of the rides and gets pictures taken with characters. Plus they had a place you could a family picture taken.
My favorite ride used to mr. Toad's wild ride which is sadly not there anymore. It is now some Winnie the Pooh ride. But I remember going on it a lot. I think I asked to go multiple times.